Mirabai Chanu, Virat Kohli To Get Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

Read in Hindi: मीराबाई चानू और विराट कोहली को मिलेगा राजीव गांधी खेल रत्न पुरस्कार

Coach Subedar Chenanda Achaiah Kuttappa (Boxing), Vijay Sharma (Weightlifting), A. Srinivasa Rao (Table Tennis), Sukhdev Singh Pannu (Athletics), Clarence Lobo (Hockey), Tarak Sinha (Cricket), Jiwan Kumar Sharma (Judo) and VR Beedu (Athletics) would be conferred with Dronacharya Awards 2018.

Athlete Neeraj Chopra, Naib Subedar Jinson Johnson and Hima Das; Nelakurthi Sikki Reddy (Badminton), Subedar Satish Kumar (Boxing), Smriti Mandhana (Cricket), Shubhankar Sharma (Golf), Manpreet Singh, Savita (Hockey), Col. Ravi Rathore (Polo), Rahi Sarnobat, Ankur Mittal, Shreyasi Singh (Shooting), Manika Batra, G. Sathiyan (Table Tennis), Rohan Bopanna (Tennis), Sumit (Wrestling), Pooja Kadian (Wushu), Ankur Dhama (Para-athletics) and Manoj Sarkar (Para-badminton) would be honored by Arjuna Awards 2018.

Satyadev Prasad (Archery), Bharat Kumar Chetri (Hockey), Bobby Aloysius (Athletics) and Chougale Dadu Dattatray (Wrestling) would be conferred by Dhyan Chand Award 2018.

Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Limited has been awarded by Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2018 for ‘Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent’ while, JSW Sports has been awarded for ‘Encouragement to Sports through Corporate Social Responsibility’.

Isha Outreach is awarded in Sports for Development category.

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy 2017-18 to be given to Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar.

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four year, Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years, Dronacharya Award for coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious International sports events, Dhyan Chand Award for lifetime contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar is given to the corporate entities and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy.

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committee, headed by Justice Indermeet Kaur Kochhar. Selection Committee for Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards was headed by Justice Mukul Mudgal. While, Selection Committee for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar was headed by Rahul Bhatnagar, Secretary (Sports). Selection Committee for Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy Trophy was headed by Ashok Kumar, former Olympian.

The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on 25th September.

Editor's Choice

Agra tourism's 'achche din' begins, normalcy returning to businesses
Post-Covid 19: A health-tech opportunity for India
The tale of two Patnas: Divided by distance, united by love